BGGB House Rules (v1.4)
The Board Gaming Group Bonn House Rules (usually referred to as BGGB House Rules or simply BGGB) are the house rules used at the FtF games of the eponymous gaming group, which include the board users shaunm, Sunchaser and Zilfalon.
- 1 Rules Overview
- 2 Setup
- 3 Strategy Cards
- 4 Optional Rules
- 5 Other House Rulings and Clarifications
- Asymmetric Preset Galaxy
- Race Selection (BGGB)
- Home System Auction
- Speaker Bidding
- Variant Technology Tree by Aweberman
- Open Preliminary Objectives
- Racial Objectives
- Political Resourcefulness
- Variant Trade III Strategy Card
- Hirelings Strategy Card (optional)
- Red-Tape Bureaucracy Strategy Card
Official Options Used
- Variant Strategy Cards
- Variant Objectives
- Race-specific Technologies
- Shock Troops
- Space Mines
- The Wormhole Nexus
- Tactical Retreats
- Custodians of Mecatol Rex
- Preliminary Objectives
- Mechanized Units
- Political Intrigue (optional)
- Decide which optional rules to use:
No Home System attacks in round 1
Antagonist and Infiltrator in asymmetric galaxies
- Remove certain Action and Political Cards
- Build an asymmetric map
- Select races using a Trade Good based system
- Perform the Home System Auction
- Choose Starting Technologies
- Draw objective cards from this list
- Determine the first Speaker
In a 6-player game, the following set of Strategy Cards is used:
- Diplomacy II
- Assembly I OR II (to be voted on before the game)
- Variant Trade III
- Warfare II
- Technology II
- Red-Tape Bureaucracy
Option: Playing with more than 8 Strategy Cards
When playing with 4 or more than 6 players, add an additional Strategy Card for each player exceeding six (add 2 Strategy Cards if playing with 4 players). The following Strategy Cards are suitable as additional ones and should be agreed upon by the whole group:
- Diplomacy I (without the secondary ability as it is redundant when using Assembly)
- Trade II + Hirelings instead of variant Trade III
- Warfare I
- Technology I (add “once per game round” to Jol-Nar’s racial ability to execute Technology primary when executing its secondary)
When determining the order of play, the Strategy Card with the lower Roman numeral is first to play, e.g. Diplomacy I before Diplomacy II. Furthermore Trade II plays before Hirelings.
Option: No Home System Attacks in Round 1
In an asymmetric galaxy Home Systems can be closer be each other than in the original setup. They can even be adjacent. If you think that this will lead to early full-scale aggression in your gaming group, you might consider adding the following rule:
- No player may activate an opponent’s Home System in the first game round.
Note that this rule is completely optional. We do not include it in our games, as early attacks have never been a big problem. As aforementioned the asymmetric setup stresses diplomacy. Early conflict can be expensive, not only due to loss of units but also because of lost opportunities of expansion, e.g. systems that you might have claimed in the first round instead of attacking or that your neighbors claimed while you were busy fighting. Remember that the goal of TI3 is gaining Victory Points and not conquest. In our experience, early full-scale aggression rarely puts a player in a position to win. However, this is no absolute rule and players have won with such a strategy.
Option: Antagonist and Infiltrator in asymmetric galaxies
The preliminary objectives Antagonist and Infiltrator require something to occur in a system adjacent to an enemy player's Home System. In an asymmetric galaxy, the difficulty of these objectives can be much lower. In the case of Antagonist and adjacent Home Systems, claiming it is reduced to picking a lower numbered Strategy Card. This can be avoided by the using the following rules:
- Systems adjacent to your Home System and the Home System itself cannot count as systems adjacent to another player's Home System for Antagonist and Infiltrator.
Other House Rulings and Clarifications
Unless the rules stated below contradict it, the current FAQ applies:
Additionally an unofficial FAQ can be found at:
The FAQ states:
Q: When playing “Minelayers,” when exactly are the hits taken (in relation to other pre-combat abilities and cards), and are the hits taken as casualties immediately?
A: The hits are accumulated as soon as the Action Card is played, i.e., immediately after the movement of the enemy fleet. The hits are taken as casualties during the first “remove casualties” step of the following Space Battle. These hits are not incurred by the moving fleet if, for some reason, no Space Battle takes place after the movement (due to the playing of Action Cards, or other circumstances).
This clarification tends to cause some confusion as it seems to contradict the way other hits before the first round of combat are handled. However, while other abilities explicitly state that the hits are taken as casualties immediately, this Action Card does not state this. Therefore the clarification is perfectly in line with the rules as written.
Since players begin the game with Bonus Trade Goods gained during setup, this Action Card cannot be played in round 1.
- Current player during Assembly
- During the resolution of the Assembly II primary the current player cannot invoke an effect that is triggered by the actions or inaction of the current player, e.g. the ability of the Xxcha Councilor Xxekir Grom.
- Ship (Definition)
- When a card requires the destruction of a ship or winning a space battle against a certain number ships while not explicitly stating that these be non-fighter ships, it is assumed that non-fighter are meant nonetheless.
- Shock Troops
- No Ground Force is required to accompany Shock Troops. The player controlling the Shock Troops is instead marked by a Control Marker.
Intuitive Leader Rolls
Most players will agree that the numbers for the Leader Rolls from the original rulebook are somewhat strangely arranged. To make them easier to memorize, here are the revised die rolls:
- In space
- On a planet
- Diplomats prevent any invasion, specifically also invasions by forces including Mechanized Units.
- The rerolls Generals grant when attacking are not limited to Ground Forces. The bonus when defending, however, is limited to them.
- Mechanized Units are not immune to Bombardment.
- PDS Fire
- Mechanized Units are not immune to PDS Fire when landing.
- Territorial Concession
- This Promissory Note can be used by both the attacker and the defender, i.e. it can be used to force retreats as well as withdrawals. It can only be played at the beginning of a round of combat and hence only after pre-combat effects. Note that most pre-combat effects are optional.
- If the player who has to retreat/withdraw has no activated adjacent system, he may use a Command Counter from Strategy Allocation to activate an adjacent system. If, furthermore, he has no Command Counters in Strategy Allocation, the Promissory Note may not be used in this battle.
- Checks and Balances
- When selecting a Strategy Card with Bonus Tokens for another player, the player receiving the Strategy Card also redeems the Bonus Tokens.
- Glory of the Empire
- While Secret Objectives are not used, the card remains in the deck. Instead of Secret Objectives it now affects Racial Objectives.
- I successfully invaded...
- The objective can also be claimed if the invaded planet(s) only contains Mechanized Units.
Racial Special Abilities
- The Mentak ability to steal Trade Goods from their opponents may not be used in the first round (where players already have Trade Goods from the bidding processes).
- The Muaat War Suns gain their +1 movement when they have researched the prerequisites for the War Sun Technology, i.e. one Technology of each color when using Aweberman’s variant tech tree. (The War Sun Technology itself does not count for this.)
- If the Race-Specific Technology Mageon Implants has been researched, the player may steal one of the Action Cards that he looks at during the Strategy phase. If other players want to play an Action Card at the exact same timing (most likely "At the beginning of the Strategy Phase" or "During Strategy Phase"), the timing conflict is resolved as if the Yssaril ability were an Action Card, i.e. in clockwise order from the Speaker.
Tactical and Transfer Actions
- Building Facilities
- Facilities can also be built in a Transfer Action. Note that all production has to happen in one of the two activated systems.
- Prequisites for executing a Transfer Action
- Both activated systems must contain at least one unit or planet controlled by the active player and must contain absolutely no enemy units.
- Transferring units and Leaders between ships
- Units and Leaders aboard a ship may be picked up by other units during Tactical and Transfer Actions as if they were on a planet.
- Gen Synthesis
- Any Ground Forces gained through the use of the Gen Synthesis Technology are placed after all invasion combat has been resolved. Note that the rolls for Dacxive Animators have to happen after those for Gen Synthesis and that Ground Forces revived by Gen Synthesis are not considered killed.
- During each Status Phase, you gain 1 additional Command Counter. In addition, before drawing Action Cards, you may discard 1 Action Card from your hand to draw 1 additional card. This ability may only be used before drawing action cards during the status phase. (Source: Clarification by Corey Konieczka)
- Integrated Economy
- If a Space Dock is under blockade, Integrated Economy may not be used to build ships or units in adjacent systems.
- Flagships can be placed in an activated friendly or empty system adjacent to the Home System as long as they are produced by a space dock in the Home System.
- Nano Technology and Type IV Drive
- Nano Technology does effect Flagships, however Type IV Drive does not.
- X-89 Bacterial Weapon
- Using the technology also destroys Mechanized Units.
- A War Sun can use the technology if no units are landed.
When entering, leaving or moving through a Special (red-bordered) System with a Wormhole, the same rules apply as if no Wormhole were involved in the movement.