AC: Massive Transport

General discussions about the TI3 rules
User avatar
happygrue
Apprentice Game Master
Apprentice Game Master
Posts: 3676
Joined: January 29th, 2015, 4:39 pm
Location: Boston

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by happygrue » September 10th, 2015, 11:03 am

You should really, really go check out SA rules then, as they did that 10 years ago and have been tweaking ever since... ;) It's a really well balanced and dynamic set of rules! I totally agree though, SC power is quite wonky with RAW.

Ag3nt
Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 4628
Joined: April 27th, 2015, 9:09 am

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by Ag3nt » September 10th, 2015, 11:18 am

Evernoob count me in for this project!! I like this idea!
If you need of course....
Known as Snake

User avatar
Sunchaser
Resident Code Monkey
Resident Code Monkey
Posts: 2868
Joined: November 16th, 2013, 2:29 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by Sunchaser » September 10th, 2015, 11:25 am

Arandor wrote:
evernoob wrote:Lastly you *could* build GF and MU's with your spacedock, and not land them on the planet. A massive transport could then bring those with you.
Incorrect. PDS, MU and GF that are produced MUST be placed on the planet.
Not only that, but Space Docks (including Saar ones) only have a Fighter capacity; they cannot support GFs, MUs or PDSs.
Do you really want to know what I want? I want my people to reclaim their rightful place in the galaxy. I want a rebirth of glory, a renaissance of power! I want us to be what we used to be!

evernoob
Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 4662
Joined: December 17th, 2013, 10:38 am
Location: Milky Way, Sol Syem, Earth

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by evernoob » September 10th, 2015, 12:04 pm

Oh, well...

I stand corrected :)
Hacan in The Last Third Imperium

evernoob
Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 4662
Joined: December 17th, 2013, 10:38 am
Location: Milky Way, Sol Syem, Earth

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by evernoob » September 16th, 2015, 6:19 pm

Extra question. There must be a clear path between the destination and origin systems.

a)Can a nebula be traveled through? (I don't think this is an issue, but just asking)
b)Can a wormhole be traveled trough? (im not 100% sure, I would rule yes though. The AC does not mention "adjacency rules" but a "path"... and wormhole are a path

concrete example : Creuss wishes to massive transport their SD from their HS to some other system.

urgent reply requested
Hacan in The Last Third Imperium

marsman57
Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 5618
Joined: December 17th, 2013, 6:00 pm

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by marsman57 » September 16th, 2015, 6:30 pm

I'd say yes on all counts.

User avatar
m4matteo
Posts: 1355
Joined: May 20th, 2014, 5:58 pm

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by m4matteo » September 16th, 2015, 6:33 pm

I believe it says in the rules somewhere that for the purposes of movement wormholes are considered adjacent. It's why gravity drive works if you are in a system with a wormhole (provided other end is connected ofc).

So I would say yes on all counts too
Can't Take the Sky from Me - Mentak (2nd)
Genesis - Naalu (1st)

"Who me? Never!"

TomBoombs
Novice Game Master
Novice Game Master
Posts: 120
Joined: April 16th, 2014, 5:07 am

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by TomBoombs » September 16th, 2015, 7:41 pm

So, a Nebula would be OK, but what if I don't have AMD and it's an AF, or I am not Muatt and it's a Supernova?

Must the traceable path be:
a) traversable in one turn? (no. You can go 6 systems w/o 6 movement)
B) all locations be occupiable (no, you can go thru an AF)
C) be traversable? (Possibly yes, is a path valid if no SHIP can follow the path?)

I would include Wormhole travel as part of the path.

marsman57
Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 5618
Joined: December 17th, 2013, 6:00 pm

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by marsman57 » September 16th, 2015, 8:06 pm

This gets touchy about card text, but I'll try to be as vague as possible. The only prohibition is that the route not contain enemy ships. I take that to mean that given an infinite number of actions, you could traverse a route without getting into a combat. This means that any impediment is okay so long as you can get through it (so no Asteroid Fields without AMD and no Supernova if not Muaat).

User avatar
Mayo438
Apprentice Game Master
Apprentice Game Master
Posts: 5170
Joined: December 16th, 2013, 4:18 am

Re: AC: Massive Transport

Post by Mayo438 » June 29th, 2018, 1:24 pm

What about traveling through an Ion Storm or Nebula which you would normally have to stop in?

Would there be a restriction about moving the dock to a planet you just acquired that round? I don't think this would be an issue, though of course you would not be able to build on that dock in the round in which it moves.
Epic Imperium 2 - Hacan
Quick Conquest - Naalu
Imperium Rising 2 - GM

Post Reply