Nekro and Bombardment

General discussions about the TI3 rules
Post Reply
Expert Game Master
Expert Game Master
Posts: 3470
Joined: May 15th, 2016, 12:22 am
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Nekro and Bombardment

Post by Everpksed » August 8th, 2018, 3:07 pm


If nekro scores it's only hit of an invasion combat during bombardment, do they get to copy a tech?
The Last Third Imperium- Creuss
Out of The Darkness- Letnev
Stellar Soap Opera- GM
Epic Imperium 2 - Mentak
Galactic Dominance - GM

User avatar
Apprentice Game Master
Apprentice Game Master
Posts: 5184
Joined: December 16th, 2013, 4:18 am

Re: Nekro and Bombardment

Post by Mayo438 » August 8th, 2018, 3:58 pm

My interpretation in that scenario is that Nekro would not gain a tech. There would have to be an actual combat round in order for it to be considered a combat so that a tech can be copied.
Epic Imperium 2 - Hacan
Quick Conquest - Naalu
Imperium Rising 2 - GM

Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 3970
Joined: September 1st, 2016, 5:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland UTC+1

Re: Nekro and Bombardment

Post by Polter » August 8th, 2018, 7:17 pm

PDS fire and bombardment are concisder pre-battle, so no tech from thoes hits.

User avatar
Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 4704
Joined: August 13th, 2016, 9:07 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: Nekro and Bombardment

Post by AbandonAllHope » August 8th, 2018, 10:46 pm

I agree with Polter and Mayo. It is pre-combat, and so doesn't count.
Imperium Rising 2: GM
Stellar Soup Opera: The Embers of Muaat
Epic Imperium 2: Sardakk N'Orr

Posts: 114
Joined: July 25th, 2017, 6:25 pm

Re: Nekro and Bombardment

Post by flamingpichu » September 17th, 2018, 8:11 pm

Out of curiosity, does this also mean that destroyers are pretty bad for Nekro (well other than for whittling away at fighter screens)?
Galactic Dominance - Nekro Virus

User avatar
Posts: 890
Joined: August 31st, 2016, 2:15 pm

Re: Nekro and Bombardment

Post by cancerous » September 23rd, 2018, 11:22 am

I believe the original intent is that both AFB and Bombardment during invasion do count for the nekro

Both are written under the Invasion Battle and Space Battle sequence on the race sheets respectively and therefore, should be counted as part of combat.
PDS is excluded because it is an entirely different step that occurs after movement step and before combat step during Tactical actions sequence.

friendly fire AC also does not activate the nekro copying capability

Also even if you play with ruling against nekro gaining tech from ATB there's still almost always a CV to get tech if you gib all the fighter

Post Reply