Political Stabillity and Initiative

General discussions about the TI3 rules
Post Reply
User avatar
brunoreturns
Module Developer
Module Developer
Posts: 5029
Joined: December 14th, 2013, 6:11 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

Political Stabillity and Initiative

Post by brunoreturns » September 22nd, 2017, 1:24 am

This is in the FAQ:
Q: When playing “Political Stability” in a 3- or 4-player game,
can a player that has either the Imperial or Initiative Strategy
as one of his two Strategy Cards use this Action Card?
A: Yes, but it may only be used to keep the Strategy Card held
by that player that is neither the Imperial nor the Initiative
Strategy. If a player holds both the Imperial and the Initiative
Strategy, then he may not use “Political Stability.”
It would seem to follow that in a 5+ player game if you have either Initiative OR Imperial that you can't play Political Stability.

I can't find anything in the rulebook or in the card text that prohibits it though.

The base rulebook has this:
A player may not select the Initiative Strategy Card
two rounds in a row.
This doesn't apply because the card text specifically says that you don't "select" a card, you just keep the one you have. There is nothing at all about not taking Imperial two turns in a row.

Can someone help me out? Where is the rule saying you can't play Political Stability if you hold Initiative.
End of an Empire - Die Roller and Card Dealer
War in the Heavens - The Barony of Letnev

"Thou art directed to return to thine own solar system immediately."

User avatar
AbandonAllHope
Veteran Game Master
Veteran Game Master
Posts: 4704
Joined: August 13th, 2016, 9:07 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: Political Stabillity and Initiative

Post by AbandonAllHope » September 22nd, 2017, 1:37 am

It is on the text of the AC itself. "You cannot play this card if you chose the Imperial or Initiative Strategy card this round"
Last edited by AbandonAllHope on September 22nd, 2017, 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Imperium Rising 2: GM
Stellar Soup Opera: The Embers of Muaat
Epic Imperium 2: Sardakk N'Orr

User avatar
brunoreturns
Module Developer
Module Developer
Posts: 5029
Joined: December 14th, 2013, 6:11 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

Re: Political Stabillity and Initiative

Post by brunoreturns » September 22nd, 2017, 1:50 am

Hmmm... Apparently, I neglected to include that text in my personal spreadsheet. I thought I remembered it being there...

Thanks.
End of an Empire - Die Roller and Card Dealer
War in the Heavens - The Barony of Letnev

"Thou art directed to return to thine own solar system immediately."

Post Reply